Are these supposed to be random facts or fun facts? Perhaps they should be random fun facts.

1. She is finally starting to outgrow Thomas the Tank Engine. Or perhaps she has already outgrown him. She just donated several of her Thomas books to the Goodwill. It is kind of sad to me to think that she has outgrown him entirely already–if only because we still have an enormous train table outfitted with a ton of track and dozens of famous Sodor engines. Not to mention another year’s subscription to Thomas the Tank Engine magazine. But, you know, it was bound to happen eventually.

2. She is still crazy about Scooby-Doo. Which is great because we still have a ton of Scooby-Doo stuff. Not to mention another year’s subscription to Scooby-Doo magazine.

3. She did not care for the new Scooby-Doo pajamas her father and I bought for her–because they had buttons. I did not previously know that she had any position on buttons. I’m not sure if her aversion applies only to pajamas, but if it is a general aversion, she gets it from her mother. (I loathed them as a child and only tolerate them as an adult. I still think there’s something kind of creepy about them. But this post isn’t supposed to be about me.)

4. She is very popular among her peers. I’m not at all sure where she gets that from. She really enjoys hanging out with boys, and boys seem to like her. I think a slight majority of her friends are boys, although her best friend at school is a girl. It might be that she’s used to boys, having the two older brothers (and her older sister being so far apart from her in age), and isn’t really into the contemporary trappings of girlhood, i.e. princesses and glitter. Or it might be that she’s just incredibly cute and awesome. (Or perhaps it’s both.)

5. Although she isn’t a glittery-princess type of girl, she does very much appreciate the twirly dress her father just bought for her. But who doesn’t love a twirly dress? (Well, maybe boys don’t. But they don’t know what they’re missing.)

6. She still wants a dog more than anything else in the whole world. She continues to be disappointed in that regard. She has never expressed a desire for a younger sibling. However, she has asserted her nurturing tendencies by effectively running a nursery for our church choir, which meets every Sunday afternoon at our house. Her charges are four-year-old twin boys (the accompanist’s sons), and she takes great joy in the responsibility of entertaining them.

7. She is seven years old today.

Seven! When I started this blog, she didn’t even exist. I didn’t even know if I wanted to have a fourth child. I couldn’t decide one way or the other, and finally I got so fed up with the stress of uncertainty that I decided to just go ahead and do it, even if it was wrong, just so I wouldn’t have to think about it anymore. Possibly not the best reason to bring another human being into the world. But one of the best decisions I ever made.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, GIRLFRIEND!

