Today didn’t start out promising, but that just goes to show that you can’t judge a morning by its first 3 1/2 hours. Mister Bubby kicked me out of my own bed last night when he came in to sleep with us and just…couldn’t…seem…to get…comfy… So I went into his room and slept in his bed (somebody ought to), and managed not to kill myself getting over the guard rail at 3 a.m. when Elvis woke up crying.  Other than that one interruption, I slept rather well.  Sugar Daddy woke me up at 7:05 a.m., around the time Elvis woke for the day, and about 20 minutes later than I ought to have gotten up to start getting Princess Zurg ready for her 7:30 bus.

The good news is that she got on the bus.  The bad news is that I didn’t have the opportunity to take a shower before I had to pile the boys and myself into the car for PZ’s IEP meeting.  I know what you’re thinking, that this probably isn’t the first time I’ve gone to an IEP meeting without taking a shower.  That’s probably true (unfortunately), but this morning I felt more shame than usual because I gave blood last night (be nice to me! they didn’t give me a sticker) and I still have this big yellow stain on the inside of my arm where they swabbed me with iodine.

I’m getting ahead of myself, though.  I had Elvis dressed and fed by the time Mister Bubby finally woke up, and miraculously, he woke up in the mood to have his diaper changed and his clothes put on immediately.  I was really proud of myself for being so far ahead of the game.  So proud that I got cocky and allowed the boys to play in the back yard while I ate breakfast.  Have I mentioned before that I’m a slow learner?  Of course they would play in the big mud hole MB has been working on since we bought the house (note to self:  don’t let the 3-year-old find the “jet” setting on the hose attachment).  But I didn’t think of that until I heard Elvis crying because MB sprayed him in the face with the hose (set to “jet,” naturally).  I had to give Elvis a bath, but MB seemed to come out of the incident unscathed, so I thanked God for small miracles, got the baby cleaned and dressed and started packing my diaper bag.  I still had 20 minutes before I had to leave for the meeting.

Then Mister Bubby announced that he needed his diaper changed again.  The less you know the better off you’ll be, but let’s just say that people who wear diapers shouldn’t eat tuna fish.  Anyway, I was late for the meeting, but the boys were very cooperative during said meeting–MB played nicely with PZ in the resource room, and Elvis limited his attention-seeking behavior to climbing on top of the table and trying to steal everyone else’s pens.

The meeting, incidentally, went well.  The educational team was disappointed that we were rejecting the self-contained classroom option, but then they went straight to work on planning for next fall.  I don’t have to think about this anymore until August.  Theoretically.

