I did finally, at long last, see Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith, and what a bleeping awesome movie that was.  However, there was just one niggling detail that annoyed me.

Many people have complained that Lucas is criticizing the Bush administration via this movie, and to be perfectly honest, I really don’t freaking care.  It’s a good movie, and I don’t mind if Lucas means to tell me that Emperor Palpatine is really W (though you’d think in that case he’d make the guy a little more affable and a lot less cunning, but never mind).  No, the only thing that bothered me was when Anakin says, “If you’re not with me, then you’re my enemy,” and Obi-Wan replies, “Only a Sith deals in absolutes.”  My irritation is not political in nature, but stems from the fact that the line really doesn’t make any freaking sense.

It seems to me that it’s the Jedi who deal in absolutes–light and dark, good and evil–and that’s not necessarily a bad thing.  It’s the Sith who think that it’s dumb to subscribe to some rigid system of right and wrong that doesn’t accommodate the full spectrum of human (for want of a less species-specific word) emotion and experience.  It’s that extreme moral relativism that makes the Sith evil, and it’s the Jedi’s absolutism, taken to the extreme, that is their weakness.  That slippery slope argument–that attachment leads to fear of loss, and that that fear is the path to the dark side–is the rationale for their forbidding personal attachment for the sake of the greater, global good.

Remember, however, that Anakin is supposed to be the Chosen One, the cat who will bring balance to the force.  And balance is brought to the Force, eventually, all because Anakin defied the Jedi, took himself a wife, and begat a son who would ultimately bring him back to the good old light side.  Although Yoda and Obi-Wan both warn Luke that his feelings for his friends–and, oddly enough, for his mostly-evil father–will be used against him, ultimately those feelings serve both him and the universe well.  When he refuses to destroy the son he loves, Vader destroys the Empire and saves the galaxy.  And they all live happily ever after, except for Sebastian Shaw, who gets erased in the DVD but that’s another point.

So really, when Anakin says, “If you’re not with me, you’re against me,” Obi-Wan’s reply should be something like, “Friends don’t let friends turn to the Dark Side,” or “No offense, Ani, but homicidal maniacs aren’t always the best judge of character.”  Neither of those is terribly poetic, of course, but it’s not like good dialogue is a staple of Star Wars movies anyway, so what’s lost?

Have I mentioned that I heart Ewan McGregor’s Obi-Wan?  If I were a single gal living in a galaxy far, far away, that Jedi could balance my force anytime, I tell you what.

In other entertainment news, I am preparing for another chick-flick fest whilst Sugar Daddy is out of town.  I will be having two, actually, because he has a long weekend in
Santa Cruz this Friday, and when he comes back, he turns around and goes to
Ireland for ten days.  While I was in
Virginia, SD rented Alien vs. Predator and the extended (God help us) version of Return of the King.  Which provided about 47 hours of guy entertainment.  (I don’t think he finished all the discs in the ROTK set.)  So I’m making the list of movies I’ll never get him to watch with me and movies he says he wants to see but never actually will because there will never be a weekend when he feels like watching a movie without stuff blowing up in it.  I might even rent the first season of Scrubs.  I’m feeling just that girly.

