“If you can’t run your own house, you certainly can’t run the White House.”–Michelle Obama, on her husband’s great role model-ness.

Really?  Bill Clinton couldn’t run the White House?  Ronald Reagan couldn’t run the White House?  Fascinating.



“The Karl Roves of the world have built a generation that just wants a couple slogans: ‘No, don’t raise my taxes, no new taxes.  It’s pretty hard to write a book saying, ‘No new taxes, no new taxes, no new taxes’ on every page.”–President of the American Association of Publishers and former U.S. senator Pat Schroeder, on why the average liberal reads one more book per year than the average conservative.

Actually, I read that book, No New Taxes.  (I also read the sequel, Read My Lips.)  Not quite as compelling as War Is Not the Answer or Bush Lied–Soldiers Died, but you know, compelling in its own right.  (Ha ha–get it?  Right?)  My personal favorite is No Justice No Peace.  That one’s a classic (but a little over some people’s heads).

I also appreciated If You’re Not Outraged, You’re Not Paying Attention–but it was sooooo long.  (Worse than Harry Potter!)  And I admit that I could only get through half of Somewhere in Texas, a Village Is Missing Its Idiot.  It was a tad too subtle for me.I’ve tried to get a copy of Buck Fush, but apparently it’s been banned in the suburbs.  I can’t even get Amazon to ship it to me out here.  I hear it’s the same basic plot as the short story “BUllSH**” but more literary in tone.  I do like me some literary literature.  I suppose I’ll have to go downtown.  Oooh, maybe then I can also pick up that new title, Who Would Jesus Torture? (I love edgy humor) and see if there’s a new installment in the Support Our Troops: Bring Them Home series.  The last one was a real page-turner, but I had to hide it behind a copy of Stay the Course to avoid being the object of withering glares from my neighbors.

What can I say, my community is really conservative.  There was a big brouhaha recently over our school district’s new math textbooks.  The teachers wanted Two Americas: One Rich, One Poor, but parents insisted on Marriage = One Man + One Woman.  They said it would save us money because it could double as a sex ed book, but I don’t know.  I still say they should have stuck with Tax Cuts for the Rich.  Whatever happened to the basics?



“We tend to think of older people as not being sexual.  But we ought not to take sex off the table just because of someone’s age.”–Dr. Stacy Tessler Lindau, who led a recent study of the sexual habits of post-reproductive persons.

I agree completely.  Let the older people have sex where they want to.  Sure, it’s riskier on a table, but it should still be their choice.  Are they not adults?

