Sugar Daddy and Madhousewife on the movies

Madhousewife:  You know, lots of people seem to like that Mamma Mia! movie, but I just look at it and think it can’t possibly be good.  I think it’s the whole idea of Meryl Streep singing ABBA songs that I can’t quite get into.

Sugar Daddy:  Well, she sang in Out of Africa, didn’t she?  “A dingoooo ate my bay-beeee…”

Mad:  That wasn’t Out of Africa!

SD:  It wasn’t?

Mad:  For one thing, that was in Australia.  For another thing, it was a totally different movie.

SD:  Oh yeah, what was that?  A Cry in the NightA Cry in the Dark?

Mad:  Something like that.

SD:  But it wasn’t a musical.

Mad:  No.  Neither of them was.

SD:  Would’ve been cool, though.


A word on eating, things that are bad for you, and eating things that are bad for you

Today Princess Zurg and Mister Bubby went to the Clark County Fair with friends, and the younger kids and I met Sugar Daddy for lunch at the Burgerville.  I like Burgerville because they’re so Pac Northwest.  They use local ingredients, and their straw wrappers are 100% compostable.  True story!  They offer special menu items according to what’s in season.  This is the season for Walla Walla Sweet Onion Rings.  One might wonder what difference an onion makes when you’re talking about something that’s battered and deep-fried, but let me tell you:  Walla Walla Sweet Onion Rings are special.  By mistake we ended up getting (and paying for) two orders instead of one.  SD is on a diet of sorts, and WWSOR are not on it, so I ended up eating way more WWSOR than anyone has any business eating in one sitting.  That was probably wrong, but fortunately I don’t care.

I think the thing I find most charming about Burgerville, though, is that their kids’ meals don’t come with the usual crappy, useless plastic toys made by slave labor in communist countries that we only trade with because we love cheap, useless crap so very much.  Make no mistake:  the toys in the Burgerville kids’ meals are crappy–well, they’re not even really toys, more like “prizes.”  But they’re inoffensive crappy prizes.  Like today’s prize, a “crazy crayon”:  basically some melted crayons molded into the shape of a smiley-face sun.  It’s pretty lame, yes, but it’s functional and made from 100% recycled crayons.  It’s a socially responsible crappy prize, and I appreciate that.

But I’ve eaten enough Walla Walla Sweet Onion Rings to last me the rest of the summer.  Oy.


Madhousewife takes Sugar Daddy back to the office

Mad:  I don’t know where I’m supposed to turn here.

SD:  Right here.  Here!  See that big building that I work in?  Go toward it.

Mad:  You know, there’s a reason you usually do the driving.

[Silence]

Mad:  And it’s not the one you’re thinking of right now!


My guest-blogger stint at BCC continues

MoBloggyLinky #3 is here.

