Remember back in the ’80s, there was this TV movie about a nuclear war called “The Day After”?  And it was this big deal, like it was supposed to be all terrifying and disturbing and people were warned not to watch it alone and maybe kids would be scarred for life if they saw it?  I never saw it, but I imagine it would be tame by today’s standards, and heaven knows kids these days just don’t get scared like they used to.  Anyway, I was just thinking about watching Johnny Carson on Thanksgiving weekend that year, and his opening line Friday night was, “Oh, sure, you can laugh, but it’s the real Day After for the turkeys.”  Which doesn’t sound funny at all, but because it was Carson saying it, it was funny.  Trust me.

That’s just what I was thinking about this morning.  I thought there might be another joke there, but somehow it’s eluding me.

So the election is finally–FINALLY!–over, and my guy lost.  You know what that means, don’t you?

FOR THE NEXT FOUR YEARS, THIS BLOG WILL BE THE “ALL-WHINING CHANNEL”!  WOO-HOO!

It’s funny–I’ve never voted for the cat who lost before.  It’s not such a bad feeling, actually.  Kinda underground, kinda dangerous, you know what I mean?  I feel the righteous indignation bubbling up in me, like any minute I’m gonna start spewing some invective about how 52 percent of the country must be mentally retarded.  Any minute now.

….. ….. ….. …..

Yeah, I got nothing.

It’s probably still too new.  You might have to wait until my tax cut expires, and then it’ll be nothing but, “Boo-hoo, I have to sell the yacht, the Constitution’s being trampled on, unnnnhhhhhh…”

Meanwhile, there’s the other silver lining:

“OBAMA.”

OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA OBAMA

O-BA-MA

O. BA. MA.

OBAMA!

Wait!  Oprah-style:

O- BAMMMMMMAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!

Seriously, that’s awesome.


Take-home message for the day:  Public financing is for chumps, and your new president, ladies and gentlemen, is no chump.

Silver Lining #4:  Without that pesky leader-of-the-free-world crap to deal with, John McCain will have more time to appear on Saturday Night Live.

(WordPress is seriously bugging me with its refusal to embed my videos.)

