Evidence that Sugar Daddy and I have tried to be even-handed and fair, even as we indoctrinate our children in conservative politics–with mixed results:

Princess Zurg, on the results of the presidential election:  “Well, the good news is, at least he isn’t a bad man.”

Mister Bubby:  “Mama, the only thing wrong with Obama is that his vice-president is a buffoon.”

Like I said, we try.

I’ve been trying to cut back on the blogging because I plan to do NaNoWriMo this year.  So far it isn’t working so well, but the month is still young.  I’ll keep you posted.  Haha, get it?  Posted?  That wasn’t even on purpose.

So I can spend all my creative energy on my novel, I decided to steal this from my friend suzyQ darnit:


1. Were you named after anyone? No. My father’s army barracks mates named me. Well, not exactly. They vetoed all the other names and approved the one I have. Maybe they knew a Mad that they loved once. Yes, all of them.

2. When was the last time you cried? I’m crying now. Just kidding. Um….it was a couple weeks ago, I think. Can’t remember why. I was thinking of something sad. Must have put it out of my mind.

3. Do you like your handwriting? Yes. My handwriting is awesome.

4. What is your favorite lunch meat?
Roast beef, but only good roast beef. Not the shiny kind.

5. Do you have kids? Four, baby!

6. If you were another person would you be friends with you? Yes. I’m cool.

7. Do you use sarcasm a lot? Pft. No.

8. Do you still have your tonsils? Yes.

9. Would you bungee jump?
No. I am afraid of heights.

10. What is your favorite cereal? Great Grains Crunchy Pecans. My husband thinks it tastes like crap. Which is good because there’s more for me. He also mocks me for spending too much money on it, which is not fair because I only buy it when it’s on sale, and only when it’s on good sale, not that twenty-cents-off crap sale.
11. Do you untie your shoes when you take them off? Yes. Always. I don’t understand people who don’t do that. I can’t even get my shoes off if I don’t untie them. You have to untie them sometime, don’t you? Don’t you? So why not when you take them off? My logic is lost on everyone.

12. Do you think you are strong? Not just strong. Army strong. No, not really. I mean, I’m strong, but not army strong. The army wouldn’t have me. I’m only metaphysically strong.  Oh, who am I kidding? I’m not strong. Fine.

13. What is your favorite ice cream? Pistachio. I’m very, very fond of chocolate ice creams—chocolate fudge ice cream, mocha fudge ice creams, they’re all delicious—but I always opt for pistachio when I have the choice, because who knows when I will have it again?

14. What is the first thing you notice about people?
I honestly don’t know. I must not notice people very much. Maybe because I’m always hoping people don’t notice me.
15. Red or pink? Pink!

16. What is the least favorite thing about yourself? I’m lazy.

17. Who do you miss the most? My mother.

18. Do you want everyone to send this back to you?
Yes! Entertain me!  (But only if you’re not trying to write a novel this month.)


19. What color pants and shoes are you wearing?
Blue jeans, brown shoes.


20. What was the last thing you ate? Cereal.

21. What are you listening to right now? Nothing, but I have this song on my mind now. (Thanks, Stevie E.!)
22. If you were a crayon, what color would you be? I would be midnight blue because that was always my favorite color in the Crayola box. But now they don’t make midnight blue anymore. That’s okay, they don’t make ‘em like me anymore either. Heh.

23. Favorite smells? Coffee. Cilantro. Clean babies. Separately. Not combined.

24. Who was the last person you talked to on the phone?
My son’s occupational therapist.

25. Do you like the person who sent this to you? Technically she didn’t send it, I stole it from her, but of course I like her. I only steal from people I like. Well, not really. I steal from everyone, but I prefer stealing from people I like.
26. Favorite sports to watch? Basketball.

27. Hair color? Naturally, brown with a touch of grey. Thanks to Miss Clairol, light auburn.

28. Eye color? Grey.

29. Do you wear contacts? No. Fortunately I don’t need them, as I could never stand to stick anything in my eye. Certainly not on purpose.

30. Favorite food? I like how I’m asked favorite smells (plural), favorite sports (plural), but I’m supposed to single out one favoritest food? I guess it would have to be peanut butter.

31. Scary movies or happy endings? Happy endings.


32. Last movie you watched?
I guess that would be An American Carol.
33. What color shirt are you wearing? Black.

34. Summer or winter? Summer. Unless I’m in southern California, then winter.

35. Hugs or kisses? Kisses. You were referring to chocolate, right?

36. Favorite dessert?
Chocolate cake.

37. Hot or cold beverages? Cold.

38. Favorite room in your house? Whichever room the kids aren’t in. Preferably one with a lock.

39. What book are you reading now? I just finished reading Promise Not To Tell by Jennifer McMahon, but I’m still slogging through Sacred Causes by Michael Burleigh. I bought it after hearing a very interesting interview with Burleigh on the radio, but the book itself is slow going. I have to put my brain in school mode. Maybe if I got a highlighter pen, it would help.
40. What is on your mousepad? Steve Carell as Michael Scott saying, “I’m an early bird and a night owl. So I’m wise and I have worms.”

41. What did you watch on TV last night? My husband and I watched an episode of Square Pegs on DVD. It was the one where Patti stops wearing her glasses and accidentally pushes Lauren into a bake sale table, and they both crash and Lauren breaks her leg, and then they get in a big fight. Good times.

42. Favorite sound? Children laughing.

43. Rolling Stones or Beatles?
Beatles. No contest. Sorry.

44. What is the farthest you have been from home? New York City. When I lived in California.

45. Do you have a special talent? Just this morning I was boasting on my Facebook that I can crack an egg open lengthwise. Why would a person want to do this? I have my reasons.

46. Where were you born? Portland, Oregon.

47. Least favorite household chore? Making lunch for the family. I hate making lunch. Is that a household chore, or just a life chore? It’s the only specific chore I can think of that I really hate. Everything else I think, “Eh, that’s not so bad. Not any worse than x.” It’s the accumulation of household chores that makes housework so awful, not any one in particular.

48. Most precious object on your computer desk?
That would be the computer. Or maybe these peanut M&M’s I just saw.

49. A special possession? I love all my possessions equally. Actually, what would upset me most to lose in a fire are pictures of my kids and pictures they’ve drawn. Well, I guess I would also miss my laptop, since all of my manuscripts are on it. Note to self: back-up manuscripts. Okay.

50. How many e-mail addies do you have? Geez, way too many. One, two, three, four, five that I actually use, and two dummy ones I set up for purposes too complicated to explain here.

Have a good weekend, y’all!

