My dear husband gave me an iPod for Christmas.  It looks like this:

It’s awesome.

Now I can listen to music any time I want to, and nobody says, “Mom, turn that down!”  And my husband doesn’t say, “How can you listen to that swill?”  Because nobody can hear it except for me because of these awesome earbuds that are going to give me tinnitus before I’m 40 because they’re always in my ears.

Also, now I can do the Soundtrack to Your Life internet meme that was going around, like, three years ago.

EDIT:  Forgot to post the rules.

IF YOUR LIFE WAS A MOVIE, WHAT WOULD THE SOUNDTRACK BE?

So, here’s how it works:
1. Open your library (iTunes, Winamp, Media Player, iPod, etc)
2. Put it on shuffle
3. Press play
4. For every question, type the song that’s playing
5. When you go to a new question, press the next button
6. Don’t lie and try to pretend your cool…

Opening Credits: Born of Frustration (James)

Ain’t it the truth.

Waking Up: Ave Maria (Chanticleer)

First Day At School: When It Rains, It Snows (They Might Be Giants)

Falling In Love
: You Are Here (that dog)

Breaking Up: Song for Ireland (Mary Black)

Because when I think of love lost, I think of Ireland.  Seriously, who doesn’t?

Prom: This Night Has Opened My Eyes (The Smiths)

By coincidence, my real prom theme was “Forever Young,” which is also a song about infanticide.  Oh wait, no, it isn’t.

Life’s OK: [I can’t say what it is because it’s the song played at the closing credits of Kiki’s Delivery Service, and it’s Japanese, and I have no Japanese characters on my keyboard.  It is a happy song, though.  If you haven’t seen Kiki’s Delivery Service, you should.  But you should watch it in Japanese because it’s better that way.]

Mental Breakdown
: Such a Shame (Talk Talk)

Driving: If You Feel Better (Emilie Autumn)

Flashback: Rapture (Blondie)
Also known as the “acid flashback” scene.

Getting Back Together
: Places Named After Numbers (Frank Black)

Birth of Child: The Age of False Innocence (Blind Guardian)
I guess so, since it comes before the wedding!

Wedding Scene: Ode to My Family (Cranberries)

Final Battle: Heartbreaker (Pat Benatar)
That’s gonna be a helluva fistfight, chumps.

Death Scene: Silent Night (Chanticleer)

O bitter Irony!

Funeral Song: Song Sung Blue (Neil Diamond)

End Credits: Snowfall (Ray Charles)

Apparently the movie of my life takes place at Christmastime.  That Chanticleer album is unfairly dominating the proceedings, as is the theme of snow.  What an interesting playlist, however.  I am seriously reconsidering the music selection for my funeral.


Sugar Daddy and Madhousewife discuss her Christmas present that is the green iPod Nano

SD:  I’m glad you like your iPod.

Mad:  I love my iPod.

SD:  I just remember how [your stepmother] complained when your dad gave her one.

Mad:  I’m not sixty years old!

SD:  Well, yes.

Mad:  Anyway, I hope you don’t gauge the likelihood of how much I’ll enjoy a gift by how much [my stepmother] would enjoy it.

SD:  No, I don’t really do that.

Mad:  That would make the dustpans very difficult to explain.

SD:  Yes.

I hope you all had wonderful Christmas (if you did indeed celebrate Christmas–but even if you didn’t, I hope you had a wonderful Thursday).  Tell me all about your favorite gift, especially if it was something non-materialistic, like peace on earth or a big hug from a puppy dog or something.  My Elvis is threatening to be toilet-trained over winter break, which would officially make this the BEST CHRISTMAS EVER.  But I dare not speak further, else I tempt fate to disappoint me yet again.

