Guessing game with Girlfriend

“It has one big hole and two little holes, and it’s got a lot of Thomases.”

A:  Her underpants.

.

As a result of all those math minutes, Elvis is now asking me to cut his sandwiches into “four equal parts.”

.

Princess Zurg:  Why do you have to go around singing all the time?

Madhousewife:  Why shouldn’t I sing?

PZ:  Well, at least you aren’t singing “Lass Uns Laufen” right now.  [Note:  This is PZ’s new favorite band that I’m defiling with my singing.  And no, they aren’t very “goth,” but she doesn’t care.]

Mad:  I sound AWESOME when I sing “Lass Uns Laufen,” so don’t even try to tell me otherwise.

PZ:  I’m going to make a video of you singing “Lass Uns Laufen” and put it on YouTube so everyone can hear you.  You know, Justin Bieber got his start on YouTube.

Mad:  Yeah, maybe I’ll become a famous singer and you’ll be sorry you ever insulted me.

PZ:  Well, probably people will think you sound horrible and make fun of you.

Mad:  Thanks for the support!

PZ:  Just saying.

Mad:  Right.  “No offense.”

PZ:  No offense.  [Pause]  Of course, people have horrible taste in music.

Mad:  That’s true.  I could still become a famous singer.

PZ:  Yeah, that’s true.

[Thirty seconds later]

PZ:  Um…you’re not offended, are you?

.

Mister Bubby, self-respecting dude

So Mister Bubby is addicted to this web site, Brain Pop, that produces these short animated educational movies on a variety of topics.  (It’s a great web site, actually.  Initially I balked at the $99/year subscription fee, but both MB and PZ use it–for fun!–and they’ve learned a lot, so I’ve decided it’s totally worth it, assuming you have $99 to spend on your kid’s edutainment.  But I digress.)  He’s been watching it this evening, and a few minutes ago he asked me, “Mom, what’s ‘period’?”

Me:  What do you mean, what’s “period”?
MB:  This movie is called “period,” and it has a picture of something I can’t tell what it is.

So I go over to the computer and see the movie “PERIOD,” and the picture is of a sanitary napkin.  MB has just recently had the birds and bees talk from his dad–but just the basics, not the comprehensive.  I explained that it was a movie about menstruation, which is something that girls do, and I said if he wanted to learn about it, I could explain it or he could watch the movie, but I warned him that he might find it gross.  He shrugged and said, “Well, I have to learn about it sometime,” and clicked on the movie.

He lasted about thirty seconds.  Which I suspect is about twenty seconds longer than a grown man could do, so I’m kind of proud of him.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

