Or something like that.

My father, technically, is a veteran.  He was drafted during the Vietnam War, but he spent his stint in the army in Dugway, Utah, doing…I don’t really know.  I think he had a master’s degree in chemistry by this time and I seem to recall him telling stories about how he’d work in a lab or something most of the time, but because he was an enlisted man, every so often they’d make him go outside and pick up trash.  He hated the army.  My father is an impressive man in many ways, but his is not a very inspiring Veterans Day story.

I don’t actually have any inspiring Veterans Day stories.  Nevertheless, I am grateful for all the people who have served my country in the armed services, especially during times of war.  I think about our folks in uniform a lot, and their families, too.  God bless them.

One of my favorite charities is the Semper Fi Fund, which provides financial support for injured members of the armed forces and their families.  If you are looking for a place to give this holiday season, I couldn’t recommend a better organization.

I will tell you about a friend of ours who recently came home from Iraq.  He is in the Army National Guard.  He was my husband’s mission companion, lo those many years ago, and they have stayed in touch.  He and his family (wife and eight kids) live on the other side of the country, but they visited our home a few years ago (back when they only had, like, four children).  When he was a young Mormon missionary, his ambition was to become a pro wrestler.  That didn’t actually pan out, unfortunately.  Instead he works for Coca-Cola, which is almost as glamorous.  A couple years ago he won a competitive eating contest.  He may have won others, too.  He seems to enter a lot of them.  He is hilarious and a good man.  A very good man.

If you would like to pay tribute to someone who has served or is currently serving in the armed services, please do so here.  Well, not only here, but you know what I mean.  Tell me about them.  I want to know.

