Can you believe that?  When I started this blog, she was not even thought of yet.

We had her party on Saturday.  It was a raging success!  Thanks mostly to my husband, who is the party expert.  I don’t know why I worry about anything.  Anything party-related, I mean.  Girlfriend has a crush on a little boy at her pre-school.  He didn’t show up at the party.  I was a bit disappointed, but I don’t think GF noticed.  Which was good, because she’s too young to be hung up on a dude like that.

Since I’d already made her a cake for her party, and the remnants of said cake were still taking up space on the cake dish, I made her some cupcakes today.  I made 28 cupcakes, but when it came time to frost them, I could only find 27.  No one would admit to swiping a cupcake, even though I said I didn’t care, I just wanted to know that I wasn’t losing my freaking mind.  But everyone swore they did not eat any cupcake, and I never did find the twenty-eighth one.  Either I am losing my mind, or the cupcake found a portal into another dimension.  You decide.

I frosted thirteen blue and thirteen green, and the twenty-seventh one I frosted blue and green.  Girlfriend said she wanted the blue and green one.  She only licked off the frosting.  I have twenty-one cupcakes left, and I don’t think anyone is going to eat anymore.  But I did my motherly duty, by golly.

We had dinner at Red Robin.  She was really enjoying herself up until they came to sing to her.  Then she buried her face in my stomach.  The Red Robin mascot was also walking around tonight.  He’s kind of creepy, if you ask me.  All mascots are, though.

We had to go to Mister Bubby’s pack meeting tonight because he was supposed to be getting his Bear badge, but as it turned out, he did not get his Bear badge tonight.  So we kind of went for nothing.  Except MB’s den put on a good skit.  That was only about 30 seconds long, though.

Her favorite toy was the Thomas the Tank Engine Zip, Zoom & Logging Adventure.  It took SD about half an hour and half our living room to set it up.  But she was very pleased.  Mister Bubby talked me into buying it for her.  I was skeptical that it would be worth the money.  He said he’d put up $25 for it himself, so I went for it.  He told me we had to get it because it had a zip line.  A zip line, gentle readers!  Apparently that is a deal-maker.  Maybe you have to be a dude to understand why.  Now that I’ve seen it in action, though, I must admit that it is pretty cool.

I just got the proof of her pre-school photo back.  She looks so grown-up.  I am finally getting out of the habit of calling her “the baby.”  Sort of.  We’ll see where I’m at a year from now.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, GIRLFRIEND!

