* If I knew the Irish word for “pot pourri,” I might have a better title.  But it might not be as alliterative, so maybe it wouldn’t be better.  Maybe the multi-cultural title is better because of its alliteration.  Maybe it’s better because it is multi-cultural.  Or maybe it is better because I couldn’t come up with anything else.

* In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, I decided to research my ancestry and see if I could find any Irish people.  Apparently, on my father’s side, my great-great-great-great-great-grandfather was Irish.  Now that I know this, what do I do?

* For a Mormon, I am really not that into genealogy.  It just doesn’t hold any interest for me at all.  I’m interested in history.  But I don’t find dead people who are related to me to be any more intrinsically interesting than dead people who are not related to me.  Dead people in general, though, I have nothing against.

* Also in honor of St. Patrick’s Day, I will be boiling a corned beef brisket for dinner.  Why do we do this every year?  Is it because corned beef and cabbage is delicious, or is it just the sweet, sweet taste of tradition that I can’t resist?  Actually, I think I just welcome being told what to make for dinner because heaven knows I can’t decide on my own.

* I like to have my corned beef and cabbage with potatoes, carrots and rutabaga.  I am telling you this because I still need to buy a rutabaga, and telling other people things helps me remember them.  (The things, not the people.)  They don’t sell rutabagas at the store where I bought the corned beef, cabbage, potatoes, carrots and rutabaga.  Nor do they sell turnips or parsnips.  I might buy a turnip or a parsnip when I go to buy my rutabaga.  What I lack in celebrating my roots I make up for in celebrating my root vegetables.

* Today I go to the orthodontist.  Even though it is St. Patrick’s Day, I do not plan on getting the green bands.  It’s only St. Patrick’s Day for a few more hours, and I have to live with whatever color I choose for the next six or eight weeks or whatever it is.  I still think I’m going to go with the blue.

* An anecdote from my family history, but not because I’m into genealogy or anything:  A long time ago, before I was born, my mother worked at a bank, and her boss was Irish, so for St. Patrick’s Day she decorated his office with shamrocks and leprechauns and whatnot, only to find out after the fact that he was an Irish Protestant.  He was good-humored about it, but henceforth she had to wear both orange and green on St. Patrick’s Day.  Well, until she stopped working there.  I hope you have enjoyed this foray into the richness of my genealogical tradition.

* I’m kind of tired of seeing blog posts by women proclaiming that they love their curves and they’re proud of their curves and how awesome it is to have curves.  Does anyone really dispute that curves are awesome?  It’s the lumps that really get the bad rap.  But does anyone ever write a blog post proclaiming that they love their lumps?  I guess Fergie bragged about her lovely lady lumps, but that wasn’t really what I meant.  This doesn’t really have anything to do with St. Patrick’s Day.  It was just something that was bugging me.

* I was going to post a video of Alanis Morissette singing about her lovely lady lumps, but they won’t let me embed it, so it doesn’t really seem worth it, and besides, I don’t think she’s Irish.  So instead I will post a video of some actual Irish people.   You’re welcome.

