The up side to having a nervous breakdown right in the middle of church is that your Relief Society president will bring a loaf of cinnamon chip bread to your house.  That’s pretty sweet.

So I was faithfully taking my meds and starting to feel like a normal person again, and then I got sick around…Thursday or Friday.  I forget which.  I spent a lot of time in bed on Saturday, and even more time in bed today.  I won’t lie to you–it was kind of awesome.  I don’t usually spend that much time in bed when I’m sick, unless I have fainted and poking me with a stick doesn’t help.  Maybe that’s what happened this time.  I’m not sure.  I do know that children are a heck of a lot easier to deal with in the evening when you’ve been asleep for most of the day.  Or maybe they’re all getting sick, too.  Wouldn’t that be a kick in the head?

Generally, I’m the last person in the house to get sick.  Sometimes everyone gets sick except for me.  It’s pretty amazing, isn’t it?  You know, when I was pregnant with Elvis, I was sick the entire nine months.  The first couple months were just morning sickness.  The rest of the time was various colds and flus.  Seriously, no breaks.  From one virus to the next.  I don’t think I breathed through my nose from October to April.  It was the worst pregnancy ever.  (In my life, I mean.  Other women have had much worse pregnancies, but I don’t compare myself to other women; it makes me feel whiny.)  The up side was that after the baby was born, neither he nor I was sick for, like, two years.  No kidding.  There was some serious antibody action going on there.  And I have to say, my constitution has been pretty rocking in general ever since.  At least it seems that way, when I’m not sick.

I’m breathing through my nose right now.  Just thought I’d mention that, since it is a pretty nice feeling.  Not something you take for granted, once you’ve been deprived of it for long enough.  How are you feeling today?  Are you a little stressed out?  If you need some perspective, just ask yourself this question:  “Can I breathe through my nose?”  If the answer is “yes,” be grateful.  If the answer is “no,” well, I’m sorry.  It does indeed suck to be you right now.

I am so well-rested and nose-breathing that it is barely registering with me that the house looks like a hell-hole and I have only about 58 1/2 hours until the housekeepers get here.  I do think I feel a sneeze coming on, though. … No, false alarm.  Never mind.

Anyway.  I woke up for the first time today–no, it was the second time…around 1:30 p.m.  I think I must have dreamed very sad things because I woke up feeling very sad.  I was so sad that I went back to sleep.  I must have had better dreams that time around, or no dreams, because I woke up feeling like I should probably get out of bed and do something conscious-like.  So I unloaded the dishwasher and made dinner.  That was about it.  And I played Pengoloo with Elvis.  I was like a machine!

Okay, now I really do feel a sneeze coming on.  There it was.  There it was again.  Okay, now it’s gone.  What would you do without this play-by-play, gentle readers?  You would always be wondering, wouldn’t you?  About what, I don’t know.

The bad news is that now that I’m feeling better, I have a lot of work to catch up on.  First, there is the laundry.  Good night, the laundry.  And the shopping.  And the house/hell-hole.  It’s always something!  But I will do it all while breathing through my nose.  And with pharmaceutical support.  So, really, it will be like a Princess Cruise, compared to where I’ve been.

How goes it with you?

