I’m 40 damn years old, and I no longer know what I want to be when I grow up.  Soon my youngest child will be going to school full-time, and I should probably start thinking about going back to school myself, only this time with an eye toward actually working for a living.  Not for a “living” as in supporting-myself living, but more like “living” as in doing-something-with-my-life living.  Because the writing thing has not worked out.  Even the blogging thing is not working out lately.  I’ve been trying to write a post for By Common Consent for, like, six months…and I think it’s time to face that it’s just not going to get written.  And I’m not even getting paid for that crap.  Why am I trying so hard to do something I’m not even getting paid for?  Not that I care about money.  I’m flush enough to have an existential crisis for its own sake.

I can’t even manage to write on this blog more than twice a week anymore.  Except that I think this might be my fourth post this week.  Never mind that!  I’m talking averages.

I just can’t figure out what I should do next.  I don’t ever want to have another job where I have to answer the phone.  I hate answering the phone.  It’s bad enough when I have to answer my home phone.  I can’t do anything having to do with children, because children don’t like me.  I can’t be a dental hygienist because I’m not perky enough.  I sure as hell can’t sell real estate.  I can’t sell anything.  I can’t be a lawyer because I’m not smart enough, and also I think I might get bored.  I’m not mechanically inclined, so I can’t be a mechanic.  I can’t be an accountant because all those tax laws would depress me.  (Anyway, what if one of those crazy Republican candidates gets elected and they finally abolish the IRS?  Where would I be then?  Huh?)  What other careers are there?

