Ten bucks if you caught the movie reference in the blog post title.*

* It’s just an expression. I’m not really going to give you ten bucks. I’ll just be awfully impressed.

.

Sugar Daddy: So I think this turkey is going to need more time to defrost. I’ll smoke it tomorrow and we can have it on Monday.

Mad: In honor of Dr. King. White meat and dark meat. In the same bird.

SD: Except some people only like the white meat. And the dark meat is always on the bottom.

Mad: Well, we still have a ways to go, SD.

SD: We have not yet achieved Dr. King’s dream.

.

SD: I wonder if the kids will have school tomorrow.

Mad: It’s not snowing.

SD: We’re supposed to get 3-4 inches tonight.

Mad: That’s what they always say.

SD: No, that’s what she said.

Mad: Heh heh.

.

Our home PC is still broken. My laptop is still only intermittently operational, only the intermissions of operation are lengthier than they once were. It will work, it just doesn’t like to work too hard. Things like uploading pictures from a camera=too hard. Having more than two windows open at once=too hard. Posting a blog=sometimes too hard, sometimes not. We’ll see if you get this message, gentle readers.

So my January micro-resolution to spend less time on the internet is going swimmingly. The fact that I spent the first three days of the month without any computer access whatsoever meant an automatic reduction in my monthly interweb consumption. Since then I have yielded the lion’s share of my computer’s operational time to Princess Zurg, who is in even more dire need of an anti-interweb micro-resolution than I was, but I think “deal with my children’s addictions” doesn’t show up on my micro-resolution list until at least…July.

I’m doing so well with the micro-resolution that I’ve decided to take on an actual, hoping-to-change-my-life-permanently resolution. You’ve probably already noticed. I bet the first thing you thought upon seeing this post was “This blog looks great–has it lost weight?” As a matter of fact, gentle readers, it has. After 27 years of typing two spaces after a period, I have decided to start typing only one. It took about an hour to get into the habit. It took a few hours after that to start thinking that it didn’t look wrong. And now look at me. Look at us. Slimmer, sleeker, more space efficient. And no, I didn’t do it to meet some arbitrary standard of the Copy Editing Gods. They’ve been after me for years to no avail. No, gentle readers, I did it for myself. That’s the only way to be successful in these endeavors. True, lasting change must come from within.

What else can I tell you? It’s been so long since we’ve spoken, i.e. written/read. I’m getting used to my annoying new phone. It still drives me nuts that I have to open it to see what time it is, but I’m working on that. Well, not really working. It’s mostly a passive thing, just waiting for it to stop bothering me. Eventually, eventually.

It did snow quite a bit last night, but then it rained quite a bit this morning, so there’s nothing but slush out there now. Mister Bubby got up at 6:30 in the morning so he could build a snowman before the rain spoiled things entirely.

My back hurts.

That about covers it.

