There is a lot of laundry piling up in the living room. Why the living room? Because there’s more room there. At least there used to be, before I put all the laundry there.

At least it’s clean laundry in the living room. The dirty laundry is in a big pile upstairs.

It’s not that difficult to fold laundry. I kind of enjoy it, actually. Or I did enjoy it, when I could listen to my iPod while I folded. This was before I dropped the iPod in the toilet. Now I don’t have anything to listen to. I guess I could listen to my iTunes library on the computer. It’s not like I have to move around the house to fold laundry. Only to put it away. For some reason putting away laundry is so much more odious a chore than actually folding it. Though you wouldn’t know the difference judging by the enormous amount of unfolded laundry in the living room.

But as I was saying, putting away the clean laundry after it has been folded is something that apparently no one wants to do. Why should this be? My kids all groan when I tell them to put away their clean clothes. I feel like they shouldn’t complain, since they didn’t have to wash or fold any of it–and yet, the only reason I’m asking them to put it away is because I myself don’t want to do it. Theoretically, I should have more sympathy for them. And yet, somehow I do not.

Every time I have this conversation with myself, I am reminded that my children really need to start doing their own laundry. I started doing laundry when I was six. It’s not that hard. I’m continuously amazing myself with the number of things I have not managed to teach my children to do over the years. What the crap have I been doing?

Oh, yeah.

Well, I’d repent right now by getting off the internet and conducting an impromptu laundry class, but they’re all in school at the moment. So. Later.

Today I have to remember that I’m picking Elvis up from school and taking him to Cub Scouts. I’m just telling you that so I don’t forget.

Today is a very busy day. Elvis usually takes the bus home from school, but today he has Cub Scouts, which starts at 3:30 p.m., which is seven minutes earlier than his bus gets home, so I have to pick him up from school so he can get to Cub Scouts on time. His school gets out at 3:05 p.m., but I have to leave here at 2:30 p.m. if I want to get there early enough to snag a parking space so I don’t have to go through the circle of hell that is the pick-up line. The pick-up line! I have never been able to figure out the pick-up line. Not at any school any of my children has ever attended. It just doesn’t make sense to me. There’s this big line of cars driven by parents waiting for children who haven’t come out of their classrooms yet and a bunch of children waiting on the pavement for parents who can’t get into the parking lot because of all the cars that are already in there and aren’t going anywhere until their kids show up. I understand why there’s a pick-up line. I just don’t understand how anyone manages to ever get out of it. It makes me claustrophobic to think about it. I avoid it altogether by parking off campus and walking in, or alternatively, being so late that there are no other cars left in the parking lot. That works, too. But it won’t work for Elvis on Cub Scout day, so I must leave at 2:30 p.m.

Which is the time I would ordinarily be picking up Mister Bubby and Girlfriend from school, but obviously I can’t be both places at once, so the babysitter is picking up MB and GF while I pick up Elvis. And obviously I’m taking Elvis to Cub Scouts. Elvis has a thing about using the restroom at school, so he always has to pee as soon as he gets home, but since we’re not coming home, he will need to pee as soon as he gets to Cub Scouts. Cub Scouts is usually at the church, so that wouldn’t be a problem, but last time it wasn’t at the church but at a neighboring school (long story) but not inside the school, only at the outdoor part of the school, and I didn’t know if the school would even be open for him to pee in there (and it just now occurred to me that maybe he wouldn’t want to pee at a strange school, either, but maybe he would, who knows), so to avoid any sort of emergency-type disappointment situation, I took him to pee at the Fred Meyer on the way. (He doesn’t have a problem with using restrooms at stores or restaurants.) Since they are doing a bike-riding activity today, which will not be inside the church, I don’t know if the church will be unlocked or not–although the den leader should have a key, since they usually meet inside, but who knows if she will bring her key if she’s not expecting to have to go in–so again I am wondering whether or not there will be an emergency-type disappointment situation, and I may need to have him pee at the Fred Meyer again. I don’t know. The uncertainty is wearing on me.

We have to leave Cub Scouts early so that Elvis can go to his social group, which starts at 4:30 p.m. I know it sounds weird to take him out of one presumably-social activity to take him to another one, but the social group is his speech therapy, so he can’t miss it and moreover, he doesn’t want to. So we’ll be leaving Cub Scouts early and going to social group, and then after social group we will go to the Safeway because that is his routine and if I change it there will be heartache (mostly mine), so we will get home around 6:30 p.m. Which is usual for a Tuesday. But it will feel like a very busy day. I haven’t even gotten to the part where we have to do homework and crap.

Which is why I should go do the laundry now.

 

