The housekeepers come tomorrow, and the house is still sort of like a tornado hit it. I have to drive Princess Zurg to Taekwondo and take the younger kids to the library before it closes. I was going to call my sister earlier today because it is her birthday. I bet if I called her now, she would be busy celebrating or something. Maybe I should text her. LAME.

Earlier, when I had ambitious plans for the day, I thought I would also call my friend I talk to twice a year because we always call each other on our birthdays–i.e. call on each other’s birthdays…you know what I mean, right?–only we don’t always call each other anymore because I missed her birthday back in October. It was October 9, and for days beforehand I was thinking, “It’s C’s birthday on Thursday, so I must call her.” On October 8 I said to myself, “Tomorrow is C’s birthday. I will call her tomorrow.” On October 9 I don’t know what I thought about, but it wasn’t C’s birthday or calling her or the fact that it was October 9. On October 10 I thought, “Yesterday was October 9. I forgot to call C. Well, I can call her today. She won’t mind if I’m a day late.” I don’t know what I thought about the rest of the day after that, but you can probably guess what it wasn’t. A week later I thought, “She won’t mind a week-late birthday call,” and a month later I thought, “A month-late birthday call is ridiculous, but maybe she still won’t care.” Today is the two-month anniversary of her birthday–which is not properly called an anniversary but I don’t know what you would call a monthiversary except that, and I suspect that isn’t a real word. We’ll see if I manage to call my friend before it grows too late. But first I’ll have to call my sister, of course.

Today I went to lunch with my mother-in-law and a friend from church. My mother-in-law and I have friends in common, isn’t that great? We went to the Sweet Tomatoes because my mother-in-law had a coupon. Sometimes I enjoy the Sweet Tomatoes more than other times. For those of you who don’t know the Sweet Tomatoes, it is like the Souplantation where you live. If you don’t have a Souplantation where you live, suffice it to say that it is a soup and salad bar. Actually, it’s a soup and salad and pasta bar, but I almost never get pasta there because I am too busy stuffing myself with muffins. Actually, it’s a soup and salad and pasta and muffin bar. Anyway, the last couple times I have been to the Sweet Tomatoes, they have not had very good soups. Today they had a curried lobster bisque, and I thought to myself, “This might be a big mistake, but what would I be if I didn’t even try?” As it turned out, it was surprisingly good. Perhaps due to the 50,000 calories it almost certainly had. And I also stuffed myself with muffins because that’s how I do.

Sometimes the muffins are better than they are at other times, and today was a good muffin day. Insert your own “muffin top” joke here.

My husband isn’t home tonight because he is at the temple. There isn’t anything clever to say about that. It’s just the truth. He’s being all religious and I’m being all slothful because I want to tidy the house about as much as I’ve wanted to take up this blog for the last two months.

Do you know what kind of bugs me about “Rudolph the Red-nosed Reindeer”? If I know Dasher and Dancer and Prancer and Vixen, Comet and Cupid and Donner and Blitzen, why would I not recall the “most famous” reindeer of all? If he is the most famous, doesn’t it seem likely that I would remember him better than I would the others? Why do I need a song to remind me? I suppose it is a rhetorical question. Still.

I haven’t finished Christmas shopping, if you can’t tell.

